The Princess Royal Hospital was opened on 15th October 1907; the hospital was situated on a prominence overlooking Hillsborough and commanding a panoramic view of a picturesque coastline, studded with bays fringed with coconut palms and a seascape dotted with green islets of Sandy Island, Mabouya, Jackadam and sisters.
It was well equipped and had a bed capacity of 20 with isolation facilities for infectious / contagious
Up until 1948 it was known as Belleview meaning beautiful view; To commemorate the visit of Princess Royal, in 1909 the hospital was renamed Princess Royal Hospital in 1960.
During the passage of Hurricane Janet in 1955 the hospital was extensively damaged as a result major refurbishment was done.
Little has changed about the view except for the two cannons that now occupy the front of the hospital overlooking the town. These cannons are relics of the British occupation that were removed from “Retreat Point and brought the present location.
The hospital now has the capacity for 32 patients, including a Maternity, Pediatric, Male and Female ward and a Accident &Emergency department. It provides a twenty-four (24) hour service.
Visiting Hours Policy
Parents and guardian only
8am – 6pm daily
11am – 12noon and 3pm – 5:30 pm
Restrictions may apply, visitors should check with the Nurse in charge before proceeding to visit.
Visitors should also inquire from the Nurse what the patient is permitted to have when visiting.
Visitors are not allowed to sit on patient’s bed.
A No Smoking policy exists on the hospital compound.
- District Medical Officer
- House Officers
- Staff Nurses
- Registered Nurse Midwife
- Registered Nurse
- Nursing Assistant
- Ambulance Drivers
- Grounds man
- Vote Clerk
- Clerk Typist
24 hr Ambulance Service
24 hr Emergency Service
Critical cases are stabilized and transferred
to Grenada for further management.
Princess Royal Contact Number